The Canuck Buck keeps Going Up, Contests, Christmas Lights ….

Getting a pay cheque in the mail used to be such a wonderful thing — now it’s just depressing.  Since the end of August I have lost $1,018, due to being paid in US funds and needing Canadian dollars to live on. That’s like…. 571 large (and 1 medium) double single Timmys. Its about as much money as I funnel into my car’s gas tank… over a two year period. Its so weird having a dollar that is worth more than the US dollar. Guess I better drop the coffee addiction and start contesting full-time to even it out. Speaking of which I did get my Kool Aid MP3 player and I also won $50 in the eBay in the Shop Victoriously contest. The extra mountain bike I won last month that didn’t fit anyone in our family we gave to the little girl next door. Very fun! The new contesting blog “Canadian Contests – Daily Entry” is doing well and so far I’m managing to squeeze in new contest updates every day.

The count-down is on! Only twenty-eight days until our little home gets lit up. This week-end I plan on getting all the Christmas lights down, checked, and ready to go. They don’t actually get turned on until December first, but it’s much easier to get them put up in the warmer November weather. I found 6 pole-like trees out back that were cut down last year that I talked Dean into cutting off at about 6 feet. The idea is that when I make Santa’s runway (the red and white lights that run the length of the driveway) the lights can be spread out at even intervals on the poles and look nicer. The poles should also blend in really well with the tress that gorw along the driveway. Usually I just drape them along the trees that run alongside of the driveway, but a couple years back a Fedex truck caught the last strand when the truck brushed tree overhang. Fedex then hauled a good fifteen sets of light down the road. using the tree poles to attach the driveway lights should prevent that from ever happening again. Hard to explain but hopefully the end result will be what I want. Chances are, even if it doesn’t turn out — after having Dean dig two foot deep holes to bury the bottom of each pole, plus the chainsaw work and so on, I think I’ll be stuck with it regardless of how it looks in the end.

Ah, the fun times never end!

Leave a Reply

